Board of Directors

To achieve good corporate governance, the main duties of MediaTek’s Board of Directors are including:


Title Name Date Elected Selected Education & Past Positions
Chairman Ming-Kai Tsai June 15, 2018 - Master, Electrical Engineering, University of Cincinnati, USA
- President of the 2nd Business Group, UMC
Director & CEO Lih-Shyng Tsai June 15, 2018 - Ph.D., Material Science and Engineering, Cornell University
- Chairman and CEO, Chunghwa Telecom Co., Ltd.
- President and CEO, TSMC
Vice Chairman Ching-Jiang Hsieh June 15, 2018 - Master, Electrical Engineering, National Taiwan University
- Engineer, Multimedia R&D Team, UMC
Director Cheng-Yaw Sun June 15, 2018 - B.S., Chung Yuan Christian University of Taiwan
- Managing Director, HP China
Director Kenneth Kin June 15, 2018 - Ph.D., Nuclear Engineering and Applied Physics, Columbia University, USA
- Senior VP, Worldwide Sales & Services, TSMC
- Microelectronics VP of worldwide sales, IBM
- Professor, Department of Economics, National Tsing Hua University
Director Gon-Wei Liang June 15, 2018 - Master, Chemical Engineering, Standford University, USA
- Senior Director, Marketing, TSMC
- Vice President, WSMC
- Director, Winbond Electronics Corp.
Independent Director Chung-Yu Wu June 15, 2018 - Ph.D., Electronics Engineering, National Chiao Tung University
- President, National Chiao Tung University
Independent Director Peng-Heng Chang June 15, 2018 - Ph.D., Materials Engineering, Purdue University
- VP, Human Resources / Materials Management & Risk Management, TSMC
- Chairman, Motech Industries, Inc.
Independent Director Ming-Tze Tang June 15, 2018 - Ph.D., Business Management, MIT, USA
- Associate Professor with tenure, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- Professor and Chair of Industrial and Business Management Department, Chang Gung University
- Visiting Associate Professor, Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
- Vice President, National Taiwan University

Board of Director's Self-Assessment of Performance

The Board approved rules for “Board of Directors Self-Assessment of Performance” and from 2016, all Board Directors annually assess the functioning of the Board. The Board’s performance evaluation by self-assessment covers the following four major areas:

  1. Level of participation in Company operations
  2. Improvement of the quality of Board resolutions
  3. Board composition and structure
  4. Internal control

The measurement items for the performance evaluation of directors include the following: 

  1. Knowledge and understanding of the Company
  2. Level of participation in Company operations
  3. Director's professional and continuing education
  4. Internal control

The assessment is carried out by the corporate governance unit and is conducted by internal questionnaire.

According to the operation of the board of directors and the level of participation of the directors, the directors evaluate the operation of the board of directors and the directors evaluate the participation of the directors. The results of the performance evaluation will be used as a reference for determining their individual salary.

Every year, after questionnaires are returned, the responsible unit for corporate governance will, in accordance with the aforementioned rules, conduct analysis and report the results to the Board, with an emphasis on any areas with room for improvement.

According to the most recent (2018) Board performance evaluation: The Board’s performance was graded as excellent (full score is 120; average score of 100 or above is excellent; 90 to 99 is good; 60 to 89 is passed; below 60 is needs improvement). Detailed information regarding the above evaluation were reported to the Board at the Board Meeting of January 31, 2018.